A Quote to Ponder

“It takes ten times as long to put yourself back together as it does to fall apart.”

Collins, Suzanne (2011-05-01). The Hunger Games Trilogy (Kindle Location 12102). Scholastic Books. Kindle Edition.

Kindle put all that information there, which is probably good because I’ve never known how to properly cite something and I don’t want to go to jail for plagiarism, so thanks Kindle(copyright Amazon, just in case Amazon wants to come after me).

I think this quote speaks for itself, I read it last night and I was the 909th person to highlight it so I’m not the only one who found some meaning in it. It was so easy to get into debt. A little too easy, which should’ve been my first sign to run but the allure of being able to afford anything I wanted was too appealing. Swipe, Sign, Swipe, Sign. It feels so good to be imaginary rich. :: insert evil laugh:: What doesn’t feel good is when you see your balance and realize you’ve got a problem. Normal people would stop spending at this point but not this girl, I was too proud. I was falling apart and no one could stop me. I was being self-destructive and selfish always thinking I could recover. I was spinning like a little girl, round and round, so fast that when I finally stopped my world was wobbly and unsteady. That sick feeling in your stomach that you know you should have stopped, the one that was hidden by the momentary happiness of spinning, comes flooding in and all you can do to not get sick is to lie down. Well, that’s what has happened, I’ve had to lie down and take in all the damage I’ve done from 5 years of spinning. Not a good feeling. As I’m lying down, let me tell you I think ten times as long is an understatement, but I’m ready to put myself back together.

Reading = Happiness

D

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ellepbee
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 12:36:54

    I love the hunger games! that is a good quote! (*pretend highlight*, I’ll be 910 🙂 haha)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 6,929 hits
