Im a Cook and Didn’t Know It

I am just like every other women in the sense that I’ve never been happy with my body image. I grew up a tom boy, I loved to play sports and my body became built for it. All throughout my life, until college, I played multiple sports. I was pretty much muscle through and through. Well, college came around and so did the freshman 15 or 20 in my case. I’ve dieted, I’ve worked out, I’ve starved myself, and the latter not being the answer.

Here’s a funny tidbit, with all this athleticism in my past you figure working out would be a no brainer. Wrong, I’m actually an extremely lazy s.o.b.. I mean you wouldn’t believe the shit I won’t do because it entails me to move. So, you see where working out would be a problem for me, I hate it with a passion. I’m one of the people waiting on the miracle diet pill. Want my pitch, remember those little pills you ran under water then some sort of sponge creature was given life?  Yea, well I want one of those, except for food. Here take this one, its Thanksgiving dinner. Want Chinese, have the red one.  It would expand in your stomach and you would never ingest a single calorie. Brilliant, right, I thought so.

So where am I going with this. Recently, 4 weeks ago, I started a vegan diet.  I’m on a pretty strict diet 6 days of the week and one day I allow myself a “meat day”, thanks to Jenna Marbles for the inspiration. The point of all this being, I CAN COOK! I’m still not a baker but I can damn well dice up a delicious dinner. I have thoroughly impressed myself and my guinea pigs, my roommates slash my parents. They’re still alive and breathing so I mean that’s a f$@#ing victory in my book! Some people may be looking at this like, “yea, wow, congratulations, you’re just like the rest of humanity”, but you need to understand something. I grew up in a household with very minimal risqué cooking. My mother was a single parent and did the best she could, I’ve never broken a bone nor been malnourished so I’d say she did a hell of job! Bravo Mom! So cooking isn’t in my family per say, but damn, I’m about to change all that. I made stuffed artichokes last night, I’ve made beef-less stew and meat-less loaf and they were all pretty bomb ass! Plus it’s all super healthy. I’m feeling great and my body loves it! Have any questions about my diet, feel free to ask.

Dinner in a pinch

Since October, my first official attempt at dieting/working out, I’ve lost a total of 20 lbs! 🙂

D

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ellepbee
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 10:58:07

    20 lbs?!!? I honestly didn’t even think you had 20 lbs to lose! thats amazeballs!! keep it up D!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Progress Puppy – Day 77 « I'm Pretty….
  3. Trackback: Because I’m a Follower « I'm Pretty….
  4. Trackback: Mind, Soul, and Body « I'm Pretty….
  5. Trackback: May Day « I'm Pretty….

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 6,929 hits
