78 and Sunny

That’s today weather forecast. I’m ecstatic! I’m beyond ecstatic, I’m almost euphoric. As my boyfriend so kindly pointed out, WebMD has me thinking I’m a doctor, which I am.  That being said, I have self diagnosed myself with seasonal affective disorder.  SAD, in a nutshell, is depression that is brought about by the change of the seasons, namely winter. I’ve read all the symptoms and I can put a shiny gold star next to all of them.  No, I have not seen a professional, nor do I plan on it because I’m pretty much the best doctor around.  I HATE, with an intense passion, winter. Not just you’re average person, “Oh, I hate winter too, it’s so cold”, no winter changes me. I become a recluse during the winter months. I lose all interest in my surroundings, my drive is basically nonexistent, and I’m pretty much unhappy all the time.

Enough about that, my main point being is I LOVE today’s kind of weather. If my city could have this kind of weather year round I wouldn’t be so compelled to move. It doesn’t though. It has some of the nastiest weather I have ever seen. I could honestly compare it to a woman during PMS. It can never make up its damn mind, and when it gets mad, IT GETS MAD. Don’t get me wrong though, when it’s beautiful, it’s beautiful, but it’s the in-between shit I can do without. So I will, for the sake of my mental wellbeing, as soon as I’m debt free I will be relocating. Hopefully to a place where snow only exists on the volcano tops and “winter” is in the 70’s.  🙂

Just like snow days exist during the winter, I wish nice days existed during the spring. “This just in, all neighboring schools and work are canceled due to a nice day in the forecast.” Wouldnt that be awesome! To my future presidential candidate, along with DST cancellation, if you can add nice day closures to your platform it’d be a guaranteed victory. Just saying.

Where everyday is a nice day

Enjoy your nice day!

D

P.S. In no way, shape, or form am I making light of people who have been diagnosed with SAD. It’s a serious disorder that can only be diagnosed by a professional.  I wish everyone struggling with this disorder much happiness and continued success. Every day is a small victory.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jllopez1006
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 08:50:58

    As someone who has SAD, I love this post. I had to share it on one of my blogs about the subject: http://mylifeasasadzombie.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/be-your-own-best-doctor/ .

    I diagnosed myself as well, and it was the first step to dealing with my issue. So I commend you for recognizing the symptoms. Previously I knew almost nothing about the disorder, and just could not fathom what my problem was.

    “Every day is a small victory” is truly right, especially every winter day. My FB status for today sums it up for us SADdies: “Amazing how the world is such a different place when the weather is agreeable.”

    My hope is to be someplace that will provide the best and most natural cure sooner rather than later, and I wish the same for you. Thanks for the great post!

    Reply

  2. I'm Pretty Even...
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 09:10:13

    I absolutely love that quote and your post! You made some really valid points I never even considered. Maybe one day, when I pull my head out of my a%#, Ill take seeing a professional a little more seriously. Thank you so much for the kind words.

    Reply

    • jllopez1006
      Mar 14, 2012 @ 09:38:58

      Thanks to you for the inspiration.

      I know only because I have went through it. Early spring is often a pretty hard time for me, with its ups and downs, so that is normally when I tend to hit rock bottom. It was about this time a few years ago that things came to a head, and I ended up going to a therapist. I, too, wondered if there was a point, since it seemed treatment options were slim, especially if you do not want to take meds. But it was worth it. She gave me some funny advice, like go on vacation during the winter, install a sun roof in my car, go to a tanning booth, use my light starting in August (before I think that I need it), and move someplace sunnier.

      If you ever do decide to go to a dr., either write down your symptoms ahead of time or go when you are in the midst of it. I tend to get amnesia about how bad SAD is when I am not currently suffering from it. 😉 I stupidly always get surprised over and over again.

      Best of luck in your journey, and enjoy this better weather!

      Reply

  3. Mikael
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 20:12:07

    I had SAD in the midst of my hardest year of college… wasn’t a good combo. I had an emotional and mental breakdown. Now I work out like a mad woman so I don’t get that depressed.

    That sounds like great weather! Now I wonder where you live.

    This just in, all neighboring schools and work are canceled due to a nice day in the forecast.” — Wouldn’t that be a dream come true? 😉

    Reply

  4. I'm Pretty Even...
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 06:57:14

    Thats great that you found such a productive outlet to help with depression!

    I live in the midwest, near a place many know as the Windy City, aka Chicago.

    Thank you for sharing your story 🙂

    Reply

  5. jllopez1006
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 19:48:02

    Wow, we are not that horribly far away. I was born and raised in Chicago. Strangely enough, I never had SAD until after I was in WI for a few years. Often Chicago weather is at least slightly better than here. Parking, however, is a whole ‘nother story… 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 6,929 hits
