Sun Smacked

My boyfriend recently purchased a house and just like everything else, the garden needed some major TLC. See my mother’s guest post to learn all about my family’s passion for gardening. Due to age, like most of the house, the garden’s upkeep stopped probably around the 1950s. I wish I was joking.  So while the experts are doing their thang on the inside, I’m going to do my thang on the outside. I’m, with the help of my buff bf, bringing this garden back to life, BOOM!

Yesterday team garden decided to dedicate our whole Sunday to manual labor. It was going to be a beautiful day and seeing as the last time we tried to get out there it turned into a muddy lake that we never signed up for, carpe diem. I threw on my best white tank top and headed out the door. Sunny and a high of 70. I was going to get some bomb ass color. The look of being sun-kissed. That look I have been longing for all winter/spring long.  Well thanks to my genealogical heritage, I’m considered fair-skinned, if not just downright see through most of the time. I’m Irish, German, and Swedish. Go team Europe.  Seeing as I’m coming up on the ripe age of 26ish, I mean 21 still, you would think I would’ve learned a thing or two about my skin.  Apparently I’m just meant to be one of these people who have to make the same mistake 15 times until we can say we’ve learned our lesson.

After dedicating about 5 hours of labor, the sun does more than just kiss you, it smacks the shit out of you. The garden looks phenomenal but my skin is a different story. My skin looks like it did when I was 5 and forget to put sunscreen on. I’ll be peeling in a few days.

Before: When in doubt cover it with stones, lots and lots of damn stones.

After: Still far from complete

After After: I’ll have my white tank top (and bra strap, how awkward) with me where ever I go.

Happy Gardening Season!

D

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    May 14, 2012 @ 09:11:01

    Good job!! On the garden AND the sunburn!!

    Reply

  2. TBM
    May 16, 2012 @ 08:08:15

    Ouch!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: It was fun while it lasted « I'm Pretty….

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 6,925 hits
